top of page

Be a tree...not a shrub.


I tend to get fired up about some things. I know that this may come as a shock to some of you (read that dripping with sarcasm please). Maybe it's the red hair....?


When I get passionate about something, it's no holds bar for me. I'm "all in, gung-ho, let's do this now" type of energy. That can be a good thing...but sometimes I find myself getting too focused on the energy of "it" and losing sight of the purpose. Does that make sense?


So basically, the intentions are good but sometimes I get ahead of myself in my passion.


Other times, I find myself struggling to find the passion I once had. That can be incredibly discouraging. I hate dry spells. They stink....like stink like "leftover rotten fish in the garbage" stink....or "my dog was sprayed by a skunk....again" stink. They suck the life out of me like nothing else.


If you're like me at all, you may find yourself asking this question:


How do I balance these two extremes?







Well....be a tree not a shrub.


Wait...what?


I was listening to a study online about this very thing and this was the main concept behind the explanation. Look with me at Jeremiah 17:5-8:









5 This is what the Lord says:

“Cursed is the man who trusts in mankind

And makes flesh his strength,

And whose heart turns away from the Lord.

6 For he will be like a bush in the desert,

And will not see when prosperity comes,

But will live in stony wastes in the wilderness,

A land of salt that is not inhabited.

7 Blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord, And whose trust is the Lord.

8 For he will be like a tree planted by the water That extends its roots by a stream,

And does not fear when the heat comes;

But its leaves will be green,

And it will not be anxious in a year of drought,

Nor cease to yield fruit.



Trees are amazing things. Their root system is incredibly complex and is the life-giving source for the tree. The roots will continue to grow and spread until they find a source for the nutrients needed in order to sustain the rest of the tree. Sometimes, the roots have to go pretty deep into the ground to find that. But once found, the roots also keep the tree in place- they ground it. Trees that have a deeply rooted foundation can withstand incredible storms and other hardships.


Shrubs don't have that kind of root system...so they are easily uprooted and can't withstand even a fraction of what a well-established tree can endure.


So...be a tree. Be so rooted in Christ that no matter what storms or seasons come, you can withstand it.


But how do we do that?


Discipline.


Ugh. I hate that word. Our culture has transformed it into a dirty word. Our minds instantly relate it to something bad. But you know what? It actually means something very good.


When you are disciplined, you are trained to withstand events, circumstances, and people that will test you. When we root ourselves in Christ and in His Word, it doesn't matter what comes at us. We will be immovable b/c Christ is bigger than all of those things.


So why is this important?


Well...guys I believe we are entering into a season of life where we will need to be more deeply rooted than ever before. We see our world becoming increasingly hostile to God and to everything He calls His people to be. This last year has begun to peel back some of those layers and expose the thwarts of the enemy more than ever. We need to persevere and dig deeper into Christ, so that we will be the unshakeable trees that He calls us to be.


So even if you're feeling distant or dry, dig in. Press into Christ. Ask Him to draw you close. After all, He promised us that "when we ask we will receive". And guys, remember that you are not alone. He has given us each other (the Church) to do this race together. So press into Christ and lean into His Church...then let's be trees not shrubs :)


47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page