top of page

2020 Attitude


Quarantined.


Even the very word sounds strange and uninviting. But this is where we find ourselves this week. Well...kind of.


As in true 2020 fashion, my boys school has been moved to virtual until October 12th because of our good friend COVID. My daughter is in high school though. Their school is still in session. She was very content still attending school, even though her brothers were "roughing it" from home.


But all of that changed with one phone call Monday morning.


Two hours into school and my phone rings. It's the school. "Please come pick up Savannah immediately. She is to be quarantined until October 9th because she was 'possibly exposed' to someone who just tested positive."


All of this took place right after an incredible weekend. I had the honor of leading and speaking at our annual women's conference and then we had an incredible time worshipping with our church family Sunday.


That's how the enemy likes to run his plays though. We have a mountaintop experience and then everything seems to fall apart. He expects us to freak out, throw in the towel, and live in that frustration. He has won then.


I'd love to say that I immediately recognized the attack and handled it with grace and spiritual maturity.


But I didn't.


Nope. I fell prey to my own sinful selfishness.


"Why is this happening now???"


"This is SO not fair!"


"Why does my kid have to miss out when she's completely healthy and has most likely already had the virus??"


"AHHHHHH!!!!!"


Those are just a few glimpses into my psyche. Praise God no one can hear my thoughts....well....God can. And I am ashamed of my selfishness.


I mean, really, what is two weeks in the grand scheme of things? Nothing. So stop it.



I was reading through 1 Peter 2 today. And God brought something to my attention. "He committed no sin, neither was deceit found in his mouth. When he was reviled, he did not revile in return; when he suffered, he did not threaten, but continued entrusting himself to him who judges justly." 1 Peter 2:22-23


*Face palm*


Ok God....I hear you.


I love how God, in His great love and mercy, sends us gentle reminders of the transformation He is attempting in our lives. He is refining us to be more like Christ. And even in my MANY mistakes and sinful ways, He doesn't condemn....He guides, reproves, and loves. God's beautiful Word is exactly what we need to reset, refocus, and use these tough times for His glory. And you know what? That angst in my spirit is gone. It's been replaced with His peace. Thank God for His grace and mercy! I'm so undeserving but oh so grateful :)

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page